The One-Stop Shop For All Your Legal Needs

Traffic Defense

For the past 10 years, our attorneys have been representing individuals accused of violating traffic laws, including criminal traffic violations, ranging from simple speeding tickets to Vehicular Homicide. The experience gained during this time has made our attorneys among Wisconsin’s most qualified traffic defense attorneys.

Here’s What You Should Do

1. Cooperate with the Officer by giving him or her your license and insurance information.

The Officer has absolute authority to write you a ticket or let you go with a warning. Arguing with or confronting the Officer only makes it more likely that a ticket will be written and that the cited violation will be as severe as it possibly can be.

2. Politely refuse to answer any questions from the Officer.

There is nothing you can say that the Officer cannot twist to make you look guilty. For example, if you say, “I was on my way to pick up my child,” they could write a report that states that you were “late to pick up a child.”

3. If you have been pulled over on suspicion of impaired driving, complete every requested test to the best of your ability.

If you fail field sobriety tests, we can deal with that because “failure” is a very subjective determination. However, under Wisconsin’s Implied Consent Law, a refusal to submit to testing can result in increased penalties and have a significant impact on your driving privileges.

4. If the Citation/Arrest involves a traffic accident, get pictures, or call a trusted friend to get pictures of the damage to the vehicle(s) or any damage to public property.

You can’t rely on the police to properly document the accident scene, and pictures can make all the difference in the world for both your traffic defense and for any subsequent civil claim that may be made by someone claiming injury.

5. Immediately contact an Experienced Attorney.

Even if you don’t think there is a defense, a competent attorney can almost always get a reduction in the points or fine, or may be able to get the ticket thrown out altogether.

For Basic Traffic Tickets Remember The 27/65 Rule

Your first traffic ticket for a moving violation will likely result in a 27% increase in your insurance rates for a minimum of 5 years. That means an average increase in the cost of auto insurance of more than $1,600.00. A second offense within 5 years will result in your rates going up 65% (average increased cost of $3,900.00). A third violation will often mean revocation of your insurance which will mean that, if you can find insurance at all, you will be stuck with a high-risk policy with rate increases exceeding 100%. In addition, the accumulation of points for moving violations can result in license revocation